Based on a logical, six-level progression that helps swimmers about 6 – 13 years of age develop their water safety, survival and swimming skills.  It is designed to give participants a positive learning experience.

red cross logo

Level 1: Introduction to Water Skills

For children who are uncomfortable submerging voluntarily. Encourages children to explore the aquatic environment and personal water safety with Instructor assistance. 

red cross logo

Level 2: Fundamental Aquatic Skills

For children unable to front and back float with minimal assistance.  Focus is building independence and comfort on body position and control, forward movement, directional change, and water safety.

red cross logo

Level 3: Stroke Development

For children able to float on front and back independently. Be comfortable swimming front and back stroke.  Skills are performed independently, improving coordination of front and back crawl with longer distances in deep water. 

red cross logo

Level 4: Stroke Improvement

Swimmers able to swim front and back crawl independently 15 yards.  Develop confidence, endurance and improvement swimming greater distances with familiar strokes. 

red cross logo

Level 5: Stroke Refinement

Swimmers able to swim front and back crawl 25 yards.  Coordinate and refine all the swimming strokes and swim longer distances in front crawl, back crawl, breaststroke, elementary backstroke.

red cross logo

Level 6: Swimming and Skill Proficiency

Swimmers should already be able to: swim front and back crawl 50 yds, elementary backstroke 25 yards, breaststroke 25 yards, butterfly 25 yards, sidestroke 10 yards, tread water for 3 minutes, and dive.